The elements of image administration
The main folder
With the first icon in front you can touch the list entry and move it, if there is more than one folder. Moving is done with the mouse. Just touch it, keep the mouse pressed and move it. If you have at least two folders, you can make a folder a subfolder by moving it to the right while holding down the mouse button. This way you can bring order into your image collection similar to a navigation.
Change order name
Move images to folder
To load images into a folder, they must be available in the large clipboard on the right. Grab the image with the mouse and drag it to the desired folder with the mouse button pressed and release the image. It will be removed from the clipboard and moved to the folder. Behind the folder name there is a bracket as said before. This shows the number of images in the folder. If you want to move more than one image at a time, just click with the mouse on the corresponding images. Each activated image will be marked. Clicking again will remove the mark. All marked images can be touched and moved with the mouse. When you do this, the names of all the images you just touched together will be displayed in an area that is visible when you move them. As soon as you are over the folder (this is indicated by the folder being highlighted in blue) you let go of the images.
Tip: If you want to move more images from the clipboard to a folder than you want to leave in the clipboard, you can also just select the images you don't want to move. Then click on the "Invert" link at the bottom of the dialog. This will invert the selection and you can then move the now correctly selected images. If you want to move all images, you can click on "All" to select all images and then move them.
If you want to move images from one own folder to another own folder, then you click with the mouse on the folder from which you want to move images. Only the images from the active folder will be displayed in the clipboard and you can select and move the desired images.
Find unused images
page4 recognizes which images of yours are used on each page. In the image administration there is a link "Unused" and a link "Used" at the bottom. If you click on the "Unused" link, all unused images will be marked in the clipboard. Since the clipboard only shows the images from one folder, you have to click on the respective folders and then on "Unused" to check which images in the individual folders are unused. The link "Used" does the exact opposite and has the same effect as if you would invert the marking of all unused images.
Important: If you embed images with the icon provided by Text Editor, page4 may not recognize that this image is used, since we have to use a different technique here. Likewise, images that you use in the blog may not be recognized as used, because the same issue exists here.
Important: If you delete an image from the administration that is used on one of your pages, then the image can no longer be displayed. The content elements only link to the image administration and depend on the fact that all used images are available there. The cache image of an image that has been deleted will also be removed by page4, so your visitors will not be able to see a deleted image.
Upload new image
Save and close
All actions you take in the image administration are executed and saved immediately. Images you delete are deleted immediately. Images you move are moved immediately. Therefore the dialog has no save button but only a close button. You should be especially careful when deleting images. Once deleted, images cannot be recovered. This is another reason why it is important to always keep all images on your local computer.
Tip: If you have deleted an image by mistake, this is no problem if you still have the image on your computer and the name of the image is identical to the deleted image. So if page4 did not change the image name because it was too long or contained special characters. Just re-upload the image and if the image name is identical, the individual content elements can link back to the image and display it again.